National Science Consortium is an ASM initiative to champion national concerted effort in science, technology and innovation (STI) strategic areas and be the focal point for inter-institutional and international collaboration through the establishment of a centralised National Research Centre. The programme aims:

  • To internationalise Malaysian research and development (R&D)
  • For ASM to find local and international partners to champion the STI strategic areas
  • To facilitate Centres of Excellence (COEs) abroad to find “strength to strength” centres to collaborate with
  • To participate in large global scientific projects
  • To have a National Science Centre to develop outstanding scientists; and
  • To increase output of high impact research/ publication.
National Centre for Particle Physics

National Centre for Particle Physics (NCPP) is the 2nd National Research Centre established by ASM after the successful establishment of National Antarctic Research Centre which was now has been taken care by Sultan Mizan Antarctic Research Foundation (YPASM). NCCP was established in collaboration with the University of Malaya (UM) in 2013 to facilitate Malaysian scientific collaboration in particle physics at national and international level.

Through ASM international collaboration with a world renowned and largest centre for scientific research in particle physics, the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), NCPP in 2013 has embarked on the scientific collaboration with CERN in Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) research. Moving forward, the scientific collaboration through NCPP would be extended to other international centres of excellence (COEs) and STI organizations in particle physics towards enriching NCPP as a centralised National Research Centre in particle physics and internationalise Malaysian R&D.